Please call us toll-free at 855.411.4420 to start the process. You will be required to send in medical records that document the condition for which you want to use medical cannabis. You are also required to fill out a complete intake questionnaire that includes informed consent.
Our office requires that you are a California resident in order to be approved for the use of medical cannabis by our physicians. Please bring a current California photo ID. We do not accept EXPIRED licenses.
If you do not have a California photo ID but you live in California, please bring some other photo ID (like a passport or out of state ID) and TWO forms of proof of residency (such as a recent lease, recent utility bill, pay stub, bank statement, etc) that have the same address.
California law includes the following as qualifying conditions: "treatment of cancer, anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, spasticity, glaucoma, arthritis, migraine, or any other illness for which marijuana provides relief". Our doctors have vast clinical experience in evaluating the effects of medical cannabis for many different illnesses. We have found that the benefits include better sleep, less pain, less anxiety, less depression, improved appetite, decreased nausea, more mobility and less use of prescribed medicines. Our patients report that when they are able to have relief from the chronic symptoms of illness without the negative side effects from synthetic medications, they have an improved quality of life, with less stress, better interpersonal relationships, better job performance, and overall a better life.
There is no need to worry about anyone knowing about your visit or approval. Your visit and approval are protected by the privacy laws (HIPAA privacy guidelines), just like when you are seen by your regular doctor or if you are seen at a hospital. Your name does not go onto any public or government list. Our verification system is HIPAA compliant and encrypted so that your information is protected.
Senate Bill 420, passed in 2002, includes a provision for a VOLUNTARY state registry for medical marijuana patients. The program is called the Medical Marijuana ID Card Program (MMIC). The card is issued by the county Department of Health offices (this is similar to how the DMV gives you a State driver's license but has county offices). You must go in person to your local Department of Health office and submit an application, pay a fee ($100 or $50 if you have Medi-Cal), and show the Canna-Centers doctor's approval letter that you get from our physician. The county will then contact us by fax and our doctor's will sign to confirm that the doctor's approval letter is valid. Once the doctor signs and faxes back the document, the county will issue the State ID card to you.
There are two benefits of having this card:
- If you have an interaction with law enforcement related to your medical cannabis (such as possession or plants) and you show the state ID card, you will be acknowledged as an approved patient complying with state law, and except in egregious circumstances, you will not arrested or prosecuted.
- You will be exempt from sales tax when you purchase cannabis at a medical cannabis dispensary.
It is YOUR DECISION whether you want to sign up for this card. You can find more information about this program by going to the California Department of Public Health website.